Tags

, , , , ,

First off, let me start with apologizing for not writing these past two days. They’ve been really rough days for me, and I’ve not had much to write about being stuck here at home because of the snow 😛

Tonight I thought I’d write about why I prefer real books to virtual ones…so here goes!

Anybody that knows me, even for a short period of time, knows that I love books. At last count I had close to 300 books, and I’ve read almost everyone (I have a few on my ‘to-read’ pile right now, but we’ll get to those later)

I also have the ever popular ‘iBooks’ app on my iPhone4, with several books on it…and while I enjoy the app, and the ability to have an entire book in my pocket. It’s just not the same. I have found that I much prefer ‘real’ books to the virtual kind.

I love the way a book feels in my hand, solid and whole, like an old friend always there waiting for me to pick it up, read it, re-read it, finish it. I love the rustle of the pages, the way they all line up neatly on my shelves (I seriously need more shelves), how I can glance over and tell if a book is missing or has been moved. I’ve always loved books.

I don’t enjoy reading virtual books as much, it just isn’t as relaxing to me, and I find it a bit annoying the ‘glitches’ I sometimes get with the reader. (Like if I roll over on my side while reading in bed my book page will ‘flip’ on me :P) Or how if I brush the corner the page turns (or sometimes just flips around to different parts of the book and it takes me forever to find where I was)

With real books I rarely use book marks, because I just KNOW where I’m at in the book, I know how the book felt, and how far along I was. But at the same time you can pick up almost any book on my shelf and it will look like it’s never been read. (Even though I’ve read almost all of them more than once) I am VERY careful about my books, I never ever break the spines, I never bend corners, I never lay them out open…And it’s a rare day I will let someone borrow a book I own.

I admit that probably sounds selfish or whatever, but it’s because each of the books I own is special to me, and I don’t want to loose any of them. I also own several signed books from my favorite author (almost a complete collection I think…I’ll have to check) (and I do own her complete collection (Tamora Pierce is my fav. author btw) )

 

As far as the books in my ‘to-read pile’ at the moment I’ve got:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (I swear I’m REALLY trying to read it 😛 it’s just not easy 😛 )

Dracula by Bram Stoker (I’ve been working on it for awhile, I just keep starting other books :P)

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S Lewis (I’m re-reading them all as I got a nice leather bound volume for Christmas)

Warriors: Battle of the Clans by Erin Hunter (I LOVE the Warrior books I can’t wait to read the next one so I’m savoring this one)

The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening and The Struggle by L.J Smith (I didn’t like what I read so far, so it’s on semi-permanent hold)

Daughters of the Moon 2 into the cold fire by Lynne Ewing (it’s on hold too)

Daughters of the Moon 3 Night Shade by Lynne Ewing

Witch and Wizard by James Patterson (I might read that one next!)

and finally

The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice (a VERY nice leather bound volume ❤ and I’m almost done with the 1st of those books….I’ll probably finish it soon)

I THINK that’s all I OWN that’s on my ‘to-read’ list….

Please feel free to drop me a line and tell me which you prefer, ‘real’ or virtual! And your favorite book/author!

 

Right now I’m currently reading “Betrayed” by P.C Cast and Kristin Cast (I’m re-reading the whole series in anticipation of finally scoring a copy of the new book!)  as well as “Pride, Prejudice and Zombies” on my iPhone4 😛

 

Kristi

