Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Any of my friends can tell you that I LOVE Cartoons. My favorite TV show has been “Scooby-Doo Where are you?!” for over a decade now, and I still enjoy watching it.

Who says cartoons have to be just for kids? I enjoy the reminder of the way things used to be, simple. Who says that a Platypus can’t be a secret agent?! And that two kids (one with a rather pointy-head) can’t build rockets, roller coaster, climb the Eiffel tower and fight mummies? Sure, it isn’t logical, or scientific, but does that make it any less entertaining? I mean let’s face it, adult TV isn’t really very logical either. You have shows like ‘Law and Order’ and ‘Bones’ where they ALWAYS catch the bad guy and everybody is super smart, etc. And shows like ‘Smallville’ where two normal people from Kansas raised an alien who fell from the sky. (And yes, those are some of my favorite shows so I am not knocking them 🙂 )

I am just suggesting that perhaps, we never truly out-grow cartoons. Sure some of us do. There are adults out there who only watch the news, sports and history channels. That is ok, if they want to do that.

However, it is not for me, I am not ashamed to say that I love watching cartoons (even if my two youngest sisters are not home!) I once heard a saying that went something like this “You only begin to age and grow old, when you start acting like it” Who wants that? Certainly not me!

I enjoy the silliness of cartoons, the simplistic-ness, the way I don’t have to worry about who’s with who and who used to be with who and all that nonsense,  it’s relaxing, a great way to take your mind off of all the troubles going on in the world. (Or in your life)

So the next time you are stressed, why not just turn on some cartoons? Hunt up your old favorites (netflix.com has a LOT of old cartoons to watch instantly)

I’ll leave you with a list of some of my favorite cartoons to watch:

Almost any of the Scooby-Doo cartoons

Phineas and Ferb (did you guess that one from above?)

Avatar: The Last Airbender

Invader Zim (Doom!!! And TACOOOS!)

The Rugrats (I was never allowed to watch them as a child, so I am making up for that: P)

Anything Garfield related

Veggie Tales!! (Before the company got sold off)

Jackie Chan Adventures

Hey Arnold!

Danny Phantom

The Adventures of Jimmy Neutron

And Cloudy with a Chance of meatballs is one of my favorite movies 🙂

So, what are/were your favorite cartoons? Do you still watch them now?

Now, I’m going to go enjoy a Saturday morning full of cartoons! I hope y’all get to do the same! 🙂

Kristi

 

