Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

In my blog post Confessions of a Celiac I talked about how I have Celiac Disease, and it’s a major part of my life. Well, today that couldn’t be any more true. I guess I should go back and start at the beginning huh?

Last night my Dad (bless his heart) decided he wanted to try and make a vegetable and beef stew, he needed a base so I suggested he use the Campbell’s Tomato soup we happened  to have in the pantry, I wasn’t thinking (obviously), I never read the label, never gave it a second thought, I assumed it was gluten-free (never EVER assume ANYTHING is gluten-free!! Rule #1!!).

An hour or so later he brought me up a bowl of soup to eat while I was working on some stuff on my laptop, and it was good, hot and spicy, but very good. About halfway through the bowl I had a thought, and decided to check and make sure the tomato soup was in fact gluten free (as I had begun to feel a sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach), the 3rd ingredient listed? If you guessed WHEAT then you are correct. Whevil. It got me again.

I’ve been CC’ed (cross contaminated) a few times in the past 6 months or so, but this was the first time in the longest time I had actually consumed wheat. (like straight up) Those of you out there with CD or GI at this point are no doubt shaking your heads and remembering back to your last glutening. I swear mine gets worse every time I’m exposed to the evilness that is wheat (aka whevil)

I was up until 1 am or so, funny how when I could most use sleep and rest I can’t have any, I had all the usual symptoms, raging migraine, brain fog, tummy troubles, joint pain, swelled tummy, etc. Today I get the lovely feeling of brain fog, mixed with this restlessness. (Aka I want to do everything at once, but can’t manage to do anything) (It’s the kind of pain one wouldn’t even wish on one’s worst enemy IMO)

Anyone who says CD isn’t a big deal, that it doesn’t have an effect on life, has no freaking idea what they are talking about. This is a real problem, it’s not imaginary, its not in my head (or anyone else’s for that matter!), we can’t just ‘eat a little’ at a time until we become immune. It doesn’t work like that. (And NO I CAN NOT still eat white bread)

I have a pretty good idea at this point how the next few days will go, and I won’t be back 100% for a week or two. That’s the worst part.  It’s not just a few hours, its a few weeks I suffer because of this. All because I made a totally stupid mistake and forgot rule #1 (and no Dad, I do NOT blame you at ALL! So stop feeling bad!!) So I can’t promise how much I’ll be posting over the next few days, and I can’t guarantee the quality either 😦 But I’m going to try to keep up with the post a day, even if it’s just a picture or a little note.

Until next time,

Kristi

