Tags

, , , , , , , ,

My apologizes for being late again I’ve been a bit busy + enamored with my Mac

This is a VERY rough piece of a story I wrote the other day… I know it’s not very good but it’s something compared to my weeks of not being able to write anything at all…. and sadly it’s not Midnight Run related  😦 (It’s actually a thought I’ve had running around for a few weeks now….and it’s based very very loosely upon a movie…)  Anyways I hope you manage to finish it without too much discomfort so without further ado

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

 

Across the River

by Kristina Diane Ware

 

I don’t think there is anything in life harder than going against your heart because your mind unfairly demands it of you. When your very soul longs for something and you have to do the ‘right thing’ and do as you are told, even though it goes against everything you long for. But that’s what I’m supposed to do tomorrow, I’m supposed to go against my heart and marry someone I don’t love because its whats expected of me. The “right thing to do” I’m told. I never even got a say in the matter, because my heart firmly belongs to another. I guess it’s time for a little explaining huh? Let’s go back a few years, it’ll all make more sense then…

 

It all started around my 16th birthday I suppose, when I was technically considered ‘of age’ and my father began looking for someone for me to marry. I was his only child and since he had not other heirs I’d need someone ‘to rule’ for me. They seriously expect me to just sit back and let someone else take care of my people? A complete stranger?! I know my people better than anyone could, I’ve spent my entire life getting to know them and my kingdom. I had always know this day would come, I had just hoped and prayed I’d get some say in the matter. But no one consulted me, or even asked my opinion, they just looked for the richest guy they could find of royal blood, and before I knew it I was engaged.

 

I truly hadn’t planed on falling in love with another, in fact I hadn’t even known that I was in love until the day my engagement was announced and I saw the look in his eyes.  He was crushed, I could see his soul breaking. And it was because of me. I never wanted to see that look on his face again. It was heart breaking. I had known him my whole life, he’d been just a friend, someone I had been allowed to play with when I was younger. You see, he was my neighbor and he lived across the river from my house. Well, I call it a house I guess its really more of a mansion. And he was just a middle class bankers son, after childhood we never traveled in the same social circles, yet every summer when everyone would head off to the ocean and we’d be the only two of our age left behind we would find ourselves together again.

 

He would take a small boat across the river from his house to mine, and we’d meet underneath the largest oak tree in the woods. No one else came that way, it was our place alone. Some days we would just sit quietly and read our own books, some days we’d have debates and arguments aplenty, and some days we would just chat. It was never hard to be around him like some of my other friends, I never wanted for anything to say, because sometimes we didn’t have to say anything at all. It was easy, simple, until it all changed.

 

It had all started out so simply too, I can’t believe it all went horridly wrong like this. It was never meant to be like this, but yet it is, and there isn’t anything I can do about it. Because I’m choosing my heart and my mind, I’m going to do what I want to do, because I think it’s the right thing to do…. Now I just have to convince everyone else.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Until next time,

Kristi

