Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A while back (sometime in April) I wrote a post titled “The Doctor, Doctor Who?” and I recently finished watching the first part of Season 6 of Doctor Who and thought I’d post a little review of it. If you don’t know what/who the Doctor is you can read my previous blog post as its a basic over-view of the show and such. (I feel I should note that Dad and I watched all but the 7th episode in one marathon sitting that lasted till 2 am or so….so if I mess up something I am terribly sorry. Oh and the views that follow are strictly my own etc. etc.)

 

edited to add: The Link to wiki for the episodes

I’ll use a scoring system of x out of 5 TARDIS’s to determine how much I liked an episode ūüėÄ

The season starts us off with Amy and Rory in their home talking about possibly ‘seeing’ the Doctor is history stuff. And the arrival of a Blue Envelope that contains a date, time, and location. The note isn’t signed, but its written on TARDIS blue paper. They meet up with Amy and find the Doctor a few twists and turns and tears later the Doctor is dead. (for real) And Amy is overcome with grief. Then River (being the smart one) notices that one of the numbers are missing…. They go to a local dinner to find the 1st envelope only to discover that its the Doctor. Of course Amy slaps him hard. (He should be getting used to being slapped at this point) We end up on a journey to the white house and more¬†shenanigans¬†and¬†chaos follows. This was a 2 part episode as well…. ¬†These two episodes get 3 out of 5 TARDIS’s

Honestly, this wasn’t one of my favorite episodes, but it does set the scene for the rest of the series…. I didn’t find the silence terribly scary, and overall I just wasn’t impressed. At this point I still hated Matt Smith’s Doctor with a passion…. But ¬†lets keep going shall we?

“The Curse of the black spot” What can I say about this one? It was probably my LEAST favorite episode of the season, it didn’t really fit very well, and it wasn’t all that good. So I don’t have much to say on it. ¬†This episode gets 2 out of 5 TARDIS’s (only because we got to see the Doctor as a pirate)

“The Doctor’s Wife” was by far the BEST episode of the entire season! Now, I must confess I already knew who the title was¬†referring¬†too before I watched the show, I had a hunch and asked someone who had already seen the episode and it turned out I was right. I found myself on the edge of my seat waiting for the Doctor to figure it out tho! It had just the right amount of mystery, action, and a dash of romance to make it an amazing episode! ‘Sexy’ was brilliant and by the end of the episode I was kinda praying she’d stay human so she could continue on as a companion because I seriously loved her. This episode actually made me like Matt Smith a little! Imagine that! I found myself in a love-hate-hate-love thing with him. Totally 5 out of 5 TARDIS’s

“The Rebel Flesh” was another episode that I just didn’t really enjoy…. It seemed to be missing something, I’m not sure what… in part two “The Almost People” it did get a little better with the introduction of the second Doctor but I still really felt like it was missing something. And what happened at the end wasn’t a TOTAL surprise, but a sort of surprise that was pretty good….

The mid-way season finale “A Good Man Goes to War” was AMAZING! Totally amazing! I won’t spoil it for y’all cause its one you really need to watch for yourself 4 1/2 out of 5 TARDIS’s (make sure to come back and tell me what you thought of it….)

I can’t wait for the season to start back up again! While Matt Smith will never be my favorite Doctor I don’t hate him as much as I did last year…which is a good thing I’m sure.

Let me know what YOU thought of the season, what was your favorite episode? Do you have a favorite Doctor? Companion? I’d love to hear them!

Until next time,

Kristi

