Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Anger comes in many forms, it can leave you speechless, it can make you ‘see red’, it can cause you to lash out at the ones you love (innocent or not). Some people handle being angry better than others…. There are those rare people who can keep their calm and be rational even when they are angry. I am NOT one of those people, I suppose you could say I have a bit of a temper. (Ok, so I have a LOT of a temper….I’m working on it! :P) ย I confess that for the past two days I have been very angry, and I won’t go into details why because thats not the point of this post, so the topic “When you get mad, what calms you down? Why? Has this changed as you’ve gotten older?” seemed perfect….

 

 

I’m sure we’ve all been told at some point and time to ‘take a deep breath and count to 10’ to calm down, but that doesn’t always work. Although honestly it doesn’t work for me at all ๐Ÿ˜› You can scream at the top of your lungs, thats a favorite for most kids ๐Ÿ˜‰ You can go for a jog if you are a jogging type of person… As for me there are a few different ways I calm down… And it all depends on how mad I am what I do

Sometimes I journal, okay a lot of the time I journal, its a great way for me to just let out all the anger inside without having to unleash it on anyone… Its also a great way for me to work it out and just figure out what to do….

Sometimes I listen to some ‘Angry Songs’ like ‘Gives you hell’ and dance around like a crazy person

Sometimes I take a long walk (while listening to angry music :P)

Sometimes I’ll call up a friend and just let it all out in an angry rant…. (or I’ll tweet about it :P)

And then there are those times, like today and yesterday, that I just have to take a deep breath and pray for God to give me the strength not to lash out ย at the person who made me angry. I’m no saint, trust me, and I’m not perfect so sometimes I do lash out….But I think this time I was able to handle it in a very kind manner (as much as it pained me to do so) and hopefully it’ll all work out in the long run.

And I’d like to think that I’ve gotten better about this over the years….although I guess you’d have to ask the people around me if thats true ๐Ÿ˜›

So what do you do to calm down when you are really angry?

 

Until next time,

Kristi

 

